W.A. Mozart – Requiem (Sequentia) (1791)

Requiem Mass in D Minor K. 626 (Sequentia)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Holy Roman Empire, now Austria), 1756-1791.

The Requiem is a mass composed by Mozart. Given that he died before completing the piece, the missing parts were finished by Süssmayr, following Mozart indications where available. While it is known that Sanctus and Agnus Dei were fully written by Süssmayr, for the rest of the parts Mozart either finished them (e.g., Introitus) or left drafts (Kyrie or Dies Irae and Lacrymosa).

It consists of 7 parts, each of them divided into its own movements. Next I detail Sequentia movements only:

  • Introitus
  • Kyrie eleison
  • Sequentia
    • Dies irae
    • Tuba mirum
    • Rex tremendae
    • Recordare
    • Confutatis
    • Lacrymosa
  • Offertorium
  • Sanctus
  • Agnus Dei
  • Communio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: